Day 23: Dream job

I’m one of those people whose dream job changes almost as frequently as I change clothes.

As a child I wanted to be a professional ballerina, so I took up ballet and that dream fell away almost as soon as I put on those toe-breaking shoes!  Then as a (somewhat) sensible college student, I wanted to become a lawyer–specifically a woman’s rights or environmental advocate. I went into law school wide-eyed and hopeful.  I came out jaded and spiritually battered.

Still hoping to do something that’s helpful to the greater good, I became a kindergarten teacher but that lasted all of two years. Then the thrill of the SCUBA diving industry beckoned and the idea of getting paid to do what I loved seemed like a dream come true. It was, and then it wasn’t.

I’ve had a few other jobs–in banking, hotel management, restaurant, call center and legal. Currently, I’m teaching English as a second language.  So far I’m really enjoying it and love that it helps me afford a life of travel. Is it my dream job? Hardly. Like any other  line of work it is exactly that: work.  You put into it as much as you want out of it, and sometimes it doesn’t even balance out. Some days it’s can be incredibly fulfilling and uplifting and joyful.  Sometimes it can be mundane or stressful or soul-sucking.

So I guess what I’m saying is that my dream job changes.  The same way I am always changing, always growing, always evolving.

What’s ideal for me depends on who I am and where I am as a person. At this particular time in my life, I’m drawn to writing. Someday I’d love to get published. Maybe write a short story or even a book. But then again all that can change, can’t it?  🙂

 

Leave a Reply

